How to Block and Unblock Someone on Facebook

How to Block and Unblock Someone on Facebook

Blocking someone on Facebook does not necessarily mean that all communication and interactions stop. Find out how to block and unblock someone from Facebook and what it really means to block someone.

For all my Visual Learners out there…

When you block someone from Facebook they can no longer:

  • See things you post on your Timeline
  • Tag you
  • Invite you to events or groups
  • Start a conversation with you through messaging
  • Add you as a friend

They can however still communicate through:

  • Groups you are both a part of
  • Games & Apps you both use
  • Commenting on mutual friend’s post, pictures and videos
  • Events you are both invited to

How to Block someone on Facebook

Method 1: Using the Privacy Shortcut Icon

Click on the Privacy Icon (located top right of your Facebook page) Once you click on that the following will pop up, choose How do I stop someone from bothering me? Once you click on that you enter the name of the person you wish to block. Or if you have their email address you can enter that as well.

privacy-icon

block-someone

Once you enter the name of the person you want to block, a box will pop up with everyone that has that name on Facebook. Find the person you want to block and click on Block. (NOTE: This is how you block people that you are not friends with. Every person below my sister are all people I am not friends with so if I wanted to block them I could do so here. )

find-person-you-want-to-block

I love this next box that pops up after you tell Facebook to Block that person. It lets you know what that person will no longer be able to do as well as giving you one last chance to reach out to them or just hide their post.

Blocking someone really should be your last resort when all else fails. Once this is done there is no going back, so make sure that you’ve tried everything else before you block that person.

are-you-sure-you-want-to-block-this-person

Method 2: Using the Privacy Shortcut Icon again like Method 1

Click on the Privacy Shortcut Icon but this time choose See More Settings

block-someone-more-settings

You will then be taken to the Privacy Settings and Tools where you’ll see Blocking located on the left hand site. Click on that.

block-someone-more-settings2

Now you’ll see where it says Clock users. Simply type in the name of the person you wish to block, click the Block button and continue on. This is also the steps you would take to unblock someone. Notice the unblock beside the names?

block-someone-more-settings3

Method 3: Blocking through their Timeline

If you are friends with the person you want to block simply go to their timeline and you’ll see 3 dots right next to the message button on their cover photo. Click on that and then on Block.

block-from-timeline

You will get another box that pops up asking you to confirm that you want to Block this person. It also gives you the same message of what they will no longer be able to do. Click on Confirm and they are officially blocked.

confirm-block

How to Unblock Someone on Facebook

To unblock someone on Facebook simply go to your Privacy Shortcut Icon, click on “How do I stop someone from bothering me?” and then click on View All Blocked Users.

view-all-blocked-users

At this point you’ll get another pop-up box that will show all the people you have blocked. Simply click on the UnBlock button to the right of the person’s name you want to unblock. (NOTE: Once you unblock them you are no longer friends with them. You must send them another friend request if you would like to become friends with them again)

Signs that you have been Blocked by someone on Facebook

There is not one specific place you can go to see who has blocked you however, there are signs to look for:

  • If you notice any private messages without the persons profile picture yet you can still see all the message…that’s a sign.
  • Trying to “Like” a persons post in a Group or Event and get the message “This doesn’t seem to be Possible just now. Please Try Again.”…that’s a sign
  • Trying to “Comment on a persons post in a Group or Event and get the message, “The post or object you were commenting has been removed by it’s owner and can no longer be commented on.”…that’s a sign
  • Viewing older conversations and seeing the person’s comments but not seeing their profile picture…that’s a sign

I’m sure there are plenty of other signs but these are the ones that come to my mind right away. How about you? Got any other signs that might suggest you’ve been blocked? Share it with me in the comments.

As always, if you have any questions about this topic or any other topic of Facebook let me know. I’ll do the research and give you the answers. 😉

Be Blessed,
~ Audrey

 

Posted in: Facebook, How To Guides

Leave a Comment (2) ↓

2 Comments

  1. Raymond W Ross June 24, 2014

    Very good Audrey I like the captcha code could you see that This particular capture code is on enlisted lands. The other suggestion I have is the Captcha code should be below the comment area it’s the last thing that the person does to little confusing.

    reply
    • Audrey Ostoyic June 25, 2014

      Dad, you are too funny. Unfortunately I don’t know how to place the Captcha code under the comment box. I’ll have to take a look at that and get it fixed. Thanks for stopping by and commenting.
      Love ya,
      ~ Audrey

      reply

Leave a Comment